MRA designates 99 state legislative candidates as Friends of Retail


This week MRA’s Legislative Committee designated 99 legislative candidates as Friends of Retail; 66 running for the Michigan House of Representative and 33 running for the Michigan Senate. These 99 candidates, who will appear on the August 2 primary ballot, are considered a “Friend of Retail” and have earned Association members’ support.

“The retail industry is facing a lot of challenges and it’s more important than ever to have elected officials who are willing to work with us and find solutions to help the industry thrive,” said William J. Hallan, President and CEO of Michigan Retailers Association. “Retailers are critical to the success of our downtowns, offer first job opportunities, and provide the goods and services our communities rely on. We look forward to working with our Friends of Retail to support and grow the retail industry in Michigan.”

MRA’s Friends of Retail designations were approved by the Association’s Legislative Committee and are based on an analysis of voting records and candidate questionnaires. Current elected officials earning a Friend of Retail designation demonstrated through their votes on and sponsorship of key issues, while candidates earning a Friend of Retail designation have demonstrated through their answers to critical policy questions that they understand the importance of the retail industry to Michigan’s economy.

“MRA appreciates the interest these legislators and candidates have expressed in understanding and assisting the retail industry in Michigan,” said Amy Drumm, Senior Vice President, Government Affairs. “We encourage our members to support those candidates identified as Friends of Retail in both the 2022 primary and general election.”

2022 Friends of Retail

District 1                Erika Geiss (Democrat)

District 1                Frank Liberati (Democrat)

District 7                Jeremy Moss (Democrat)

District 8                Marshall Bullock II (Democrat)

District 9                Michael Webber (Republican)

District 11               Michael MacDonald (Republican)

District 12               Kevin Hertel (Democrat)

District 12              Pamela Hornberger (Republican)

District 16              Joseph Bellino Jr. (Republican)

District 16              T.C. Clements Jr. (Republican)

District 17              Kim LaSata (Republican)

District 18              Thomas Albert (Republican)

District 20              Aric Nesbitt (Republican)

District 21              Sarah Anthony (Democrat)

District 22              Lana Theis (Republican)

District 23              Jim Runestad (Republican)

District 24              Ruth Johnson (Republican)

District 25              Dan Lauwers (Republican)

District 26              Kevin Daley (Republican)

District 27              Bill Swanson (Democrat)

District 28              Madhu Anderson (Republican)

District 28              Daylen Howard (Republican)

District 29              Tommy Brann (Republican)

District 30              Mark Huizenga (Republican)

District 31               Roger Victory (Republican)

District 32              Jon Bumstead (Republican)

District 33              Rick Outman (Republican)

District 34              Roger Hauck (Republican)

District 35              Annette Glenn (Republican)

District 36              Michele Hoitenga (Republican)

District 37              John Damoose (Republican)

District 37              George Ranville (Republican)

District 38              Ed McBroom (Republican)

District 4                Karen Whitsett (Democrat)

District 10              Joe Tate (Democrat)

District 12              Richard Steenland (Democrat)

District 19              Samantha Steckloff (Democrat)

District 21              David Staudt (Republican)

District 27              Kevin Counts (Republican)

District 28              Virgie Ammerman (Republican)

District 30              William Bruck (Republican)

District 34              Ryan Rank (Republican)

District 34              Dale Zorn (Republican)

District 35              Andrew Fink (Republican)

District 37              Brad Paquette (Republican)

District 38              George Steven Lucas (Republican)

District 38              Kevin Whiteford (Republican)

District 39              Pauline Wendzel (Republican)

District 42              Matt Hall (Republican)

District 43              Lindsay Kronemeyer (Republican)

District 45              Sarah Lightner (Republican)

District 46              Kathy Schmaltz (Republican)

District 49              Ann Bollin (Republican)

District 50              Bob Bezotte Jr. (Republican)

District 55              Mark Tisdel (Republican)

District 56              Mark Gunn (Republican)

District 57              Thomas E. Kuhn (Republican)

District 58              Nate Shannon (Democrat)

District 60              Joseph Aragona (Republican)

District 62              Joe Marino (Republican)

District 63              Jay DeBoyer (Republican)

District 64              Andrew Beeler (Republican)

District 64              Gary Eisen (Republican)

District 66              Jacob Newby (Republican)

District 67              Phil Green (Republican)

District 68              Lynne Freiberger (Republican)

District 68              David Martin (Republican)

District 71               Bob Carlin (Republican)

District 72              Mike Mueller (Republican)

District 76              Angela Witwer (Democrat)

District 78              Christine E. Barnes (Republican)

District 78              Ben Geiger (Republican)

District 79              Jeremiah Keeler (Republican)

District 81              Lynn Afendoulis (Republican)

District 84              Mike Milanowski Jr. (Republican)

District 85              Bradley Slagh (Republican)

District 87              Will Snyder (Democrat)

District 88              Greg VanWoerkom (Republican)

District 89              Luke Meerman (Republican)

District 90              Bryan Posthumus (Republican)

District 91               Pat Outman (Republican)

District 92              Todd Schorle (Republican)

District 93              Graham Filler (Republican)

District 95              Bill G. Schuette (Republican)

District 96              Timothy Beson (Republican)

District 97              Rodney Wakeman (Republican)

District 97              Paul Whitney (Republican)

District 98              Westley D. Tahash (Republican)

District 99              Mike Hoadley (Republican)

District 100            Tom Kunse (Republican)

District 101            Diane J. Schindlbeck (Republican)

District 102            Curt VanderWall (Republican)

District 103            Jack O’Malley (Republican)

District 104            John Roth (Republican)

District 105            Ken Borton (Republican)

District 105            Kim Morley (Republican)

District 107            Parker Fairbairn (Republican)

District 108            Dave Prestin (Republican)

District 110            Greg Markkanen (Republican)

To see the statewide 2022 legislative districts for each candidate visit the state’s new maps drawn by the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission.

The post MRA designates 99 state legislative candidates as Friends of Retail appeared first on Michigan Retailers Association.


Source link